The annual Commissioner's Cup sponsored by the Philippine Racing Commission which pays tribute to former PHILRACOM Commissioners this year honors the late Dr. Reynaldo "Eyo" Fernando in recognition for his initiatives in the creation of the Unsound Horses Committee and contributions in technical and relevant veterinary improvements and Atty. Franco M. Loyola for his contributions in relevant legal aspects set to fundamental measures instituted for the Philippine Horse Racing Industry.


This year's Commissioners' Cup was held at the Metro Manila Turf Club, Malvar Batangas.

The 1,800 Meter Race was bested by the horse Malaya owned by Mandaluyong Mayor Benhur C. Abalos Jr. and ridden by Jockey Jonathan Basco Hernandez. Also awarded was trainer Mr. Ruben Tupas.

Present in the awarding ceremonies was no other than Honorable Philracom Chairman Angel L. Castaño, Jr. together with Commissioners; Jess B. Cantos, Eddie B. Jose, and Lyndon B. Guce. Also present was Dr. Romeo F. Buencamino.

The late Atty. Franco Loyola was represented by his wife Mrs. Herminia Loyola and nephew Vice Mayor Itoy Reyes of Carmona, Cavite.

Present for the late Dr. Reynaldo Fernando was his family composed of his wife Mrs. Malen Fernando, Children Maget and Nico Fernando and brother Antonio Fernando Jr.